Reading

In my post Things I have learned from my past jobs, I discussed how I have tried to keep up the habit of reading computer and business related books on a regular basis. I have managed to keep this habit up quite well. My reading lately has been primarily business and computer books, with a few other fiction and non-fiction books for variety. For example, in 2005 I read 36 books, of which 13 were business related and 14 were computer related. In 2006, I read 29 books, of which 12 were business related and 5 were computer related.

I used to buy many books and I still buy a few, but I primarily try to get books from the library now. The Calgary Public Library has an excellent selection of computer and business books to choose from which has made this easy.

I try to take notes on all of the computer and business books I read, especially if they come from the library, so I can remember the most important information from them. I will post some of these summaries in future posts.

My favourite books from the past two years have been:

2006

  • Implementing Lean Software Development – Poppendieck
  • The Success Principles – Canfield
  • The Essential Drucker – Drucker
  • What Customers Want – Ulwick
  • Becoming A Technical Leader – Weinberg
  • Domain Driven Design – Evans
  • Blue Ocean Strategy – Kim
  • Lean Software Development – Poppendieck
  • The Tipping Point – Gladwell
  • A Short History of Nearly Everything – Bryson
  • Good to Great – Collins

2005

  • Agile Management for Software Engineering – Anderson
  • The Innovator’s Solution – Christensen
  • The Simplicity Survival Handbook – Jensen
  • Crossing the Chasm – Moore
  • The Humane Interface – Raskin
  • The Innovator’s Dilemma – Christensen
  • Re-imagine – Peters
  • The Goal – Goldratt
  • The Fifth Discipline – Senge
  • Head First Design Patterns – Freeman
  • Now: Discover Your Strengths
  • Beyond Software Architecture – Hohmann
  • Refactoring – Fowler
  • Agile Software Development – Martin

2 Responses to “Reading”

  1. A favourite book: The Simplicity Survival Handbook « Derek Kivi Says:

    […] favourite book: The Simplicity Survival Handbook A book that I recently read that I quite enjoyed and was able to apply at work is The Simplicity Survival Handbook, by Bill […]

  2. Foreclosure Help Says:

    All time favorites have to be:

    E-Myth
    The World is Flat
    Rich Dad Poor Dad
    To Kill A Mockingbird
    The Count of Monte Cristo

Leave a comment