I hope a post a day isn’t too frequent

This article by Darren Rowse suggests 34 Reasons Why Readers Unsubscribe From Your Blog. First on the list is too many posts. I am currently subscribed to about 100 blogs and I have unsubscribed to blogs based on several of these, including too many posts (#1), infrequent posting (#2), and partial feeds (#3). I personally don’t like partial feeds the most–that would have been my number one answer.

My goal for starting out on my blog is to post once per day. I hope to keep this up for a year. I especially want to do it for at least 30 days straight to establish it as a habit, as Steve Pavlina suggests in 30 Days to Success. Hopefully that won’t cost me any subscribers. Although since I don’t have any yet maybe I shouldn’t be too worried! I would imagine it’s the blogs that post many times a day that really tire people out though.

It may be difficult to post every day–each post is taking about 20 minutes to write–but I hope I will be able to write longer posts more quickly when it truly becomes a habit. I also look forward to finding out what I am most interested in writing about, and hopefully developing an audience of some kind.

Leave a comment